Apply Online

Majors and Minors for BSc/BA

SaiU offers the flexibility to pursue your interests in many combinations. Students may choose their major at any time from admission to the beginning of the second year, and they may switch their choice provided enough time remains to complete their requirements. Adding a minor requires staying for a fourth year. A minor may be chosen anytime until the end of the third year.

There are two kinds of majors and minors: disciplinary and interdisciplinary.

Disciplinary Majors & Minors

Science Division (BSc):

  • Astronomy, Physics & Space Science
  • Biological Science
  • Cognitive Neuroscience
  • Computer Science
  • Data Science
  • Environmental Science
  • Mathematics

Social Science Division (BA):

  • Child Development
  • Economics
  • Environmental Policy (jointly with Law School)
  • History & Political Science
  • International Relations
  • Psychology

Arts & Humanities Division (BA):

  • Literature (English or Tamil or combined)
  • Music
  • Philosophy
  • Visual Arts
  • Women’s & Gender Studies

Computing & Data Science:

  • Computer Science
  • Data Science
  • Artificial Intelligence & Machine Learning
  • Cyber Security & Block Chain

Interdisciplinary Majors and Minors

  • Digital Arts/Media
  • Digital Humanities
  • Digital Imaging
  • Computational Finance
  • Public Health Analytics (BSc)

Requirements for degree

3-year BSc/BA
24 courses (4 courses per semester), including:
6 Foundation Courses
1 Communications Course
12 Major Courses
5 Elective Courses

4-year BSc/BA: Advanced Study with or without Minor: 32 courses (4 courses per semester)
8 additional courses, including possible Minor, 2-course Thesis, and/or Elective Courses.

Apply Now